London Tube Map

London Tube Stations, Routes and Historical Information

The Victoria Line

The Victoria Line is represented on the London Tube Map by a light blue line and runs from Brixton to Walthamstow Central. It handles 183 million journeys every year and serves 16 stations on its 13-mile length.

The proposal for the new line, running from Victoria to Walthamstow, came from a British Transport Commission working party in 1948 in order to ease congestion in Central London. Work began on the line in 1962 and continued until 1972 despite the line formally opening in 1968. The Brixton extension was approved in 1967 and the Pimlico station in 1968.

victoria line tube map

The line was built to ease congestion on other lines - most urgently the Piccadilly line
as well as provide more interchanges between other lines. Every line on the Victoria
line is an interchange, save for Pimlico.

Map Colour Light Blue
Year Operated 1968
Year Opened 1968
Year Named 1968
Length 13.25mi (21.2km)
Journeys 183,000,000
Stations Blackhorse Road
Finsbury Park
Green Park
Highbury & Islington
King's Cross St. Pancras
Oxford Circus
Seven Sisters
Tottenham Hale
Walthamstow Central
Warren Street