London Tube Map

London Tube Stations, Routes and Historical Information

The Piccadilly Line

The Piccadilly Line is shown on the London Tube Map as a dark blue line. It serves 53 stations and handles over 176 million journeys every year over its 44-mile length. The line originally began as the Great Northern, Piccadilly & Brompton Railway and opened in 1906, running from Finsbury Park to Hammersmith.
piccadilly line tube map
There have been many extensions of the line since it opened in 1906:

  • Cockfosters Extension
    To ease congestion at Finsbury Park, completed in 1933.
  • Westward Extensions
    Linking the existing tracks west of Hammersmith and completed in 1933.
    To Hounslow quadrupling the line from Acton Town to Northfields. 1932.
  • Victoria Line
    Construction of the Victoria Line affected the Piccadilly Line at Finsbury Park even through proposed extensions were shelved.
  • Heathrow Extension
    New tunnel section to Hatton Cross Station from Hounslow West, it was extended to Heathrow Central in 1977 and renamed Terminals 1, 2 and 3.
    One of the trains on the Piccadilly line was attacked by the July 7th bombers in 2005. The train was between King's Cross and Russell Square when the explosion occurred.

Map Colour Dark Blue
Year Operated 1906
Year Opened 1869
Year Named 1906
Length 44.3mi (70.9km)
Journeys 177,000,000
Stations Acton Town
Arnos Grove
Barons Court
Boston Manor
Bounds Green
Caledonian Road
Covent Garden
Ealing Common
Earl's Court
Finsbury Park
Gloucester Road
Green Park
Hatton Cross
Heathrow Terminal 4
Heathrow Terminal 5
Heathrow Terminals 2 & 3
Holloway Road
Hounslow Central
Hounslow East
Hounslow West
Hyde Park Corner
King's Cross St. Pancras
Leicester Square
Manor House
North Ealing
Park Royal
Piccadilly Circus
Rayners Lane
Ruislip Manor
Russell Square
South Ealing
South Harrow
South Kensington
Sudbury Hill
Sudbury Town
Turnham Green
Turnpike Lane
Wood Green