London Tube Map

London Tube Stations, Routes and Historical Information

Acton Town Tube Station

Acton Town is a London tube station in the London Borough of Ealing. The station is served by the District and Piccadilly line. The District line is between Chiswick Park and Ealing Common stations, and the Piccadilly line is between Hammersmith (Turnham Green in the early mornings and late evenings) and Ealing Common on the Uxbridge branch & South Ealing on the Heathrow branch.

Acton Town station opened as Mill Hill Park on 1 July 1879 by the District Railway. It remained as a terminus until on 1 May 1883 and 23 June 1903 the DR opened two branches from Acton Town to Hounslow Town and Park Royal & Twyford Abbey respectively. On 4 July 1932 the Piccadilly line was extended to Acton Town. District line services to both the Hounslow and Uxbridge branches were withdrawn completely on 9 and 10 October 1964.

The new station designed by Charles Holden in a modern European geometric style using brick, reinforced concrete and glass, was originally brick-built in 1879. The station building was reconstructed in February 1910, and was renamed with its present name on 1 March 1910. In 1931 and 1932 the station was rebuilt again in preparation for transferring the Uxbridge branch service from the District line to the Piccadilly line.

Station Address:

    Acton Town Station
    London Underground Ltd.
    Gunnersbury Lane
    W3 8HN

Station Facilities:

Acton Town Underground Stations has the following facilities.

    Cash MachinesCash Machines
    Euro Cash MachinesEuro Cash Machines
    Ticket HallsTicket Halls
    Waiting RoomWaiting Room

Acton Town

Location Map: